My 2020 Wrap-Up & 2021 Reading Plans

The dreadful 2020 is finally over, and a new hope is on the horizon. It’s also the perfect time to reflect on our reading journey last year, and make new ones for 2021.

2020 Wrap-Up

I don’t normally keep tracking of very detailed reading statistics every year apart from the one that comes with Goodreads, so I’m hoping to keep a more detailed track of it next year. According to my Goodreads’s Year in Books 2020, I was able to:

  • read 128 books in total
  • read 48, 198 pages
  • my average book length is 376
  • my average rating is 3.8
  • the shortest book I’ve read is Shooting Star by Staci Hart (47 pages)
  • the longest book I’ve read is Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson (1,087 pages)
  • the most popular book I read is And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  • the least popular book I read is The Road of Resistance by Chase E. Bolling
  • the first book I’ve read is Headstrong Like Us by Krista & Becca Ritchie
  • and the last book I read for 2020 is The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

2021 Reading Plans

Now that 2021 is finally upon us, it just means a fresh start – back to square one, and hopefully be filled with a lot of potential new favorites. I’m not normally a big planner at the start of the year, since I always prefer to do smaller achievable goals to give myself some focus, and then I’ll just wing it the rest of the way. But this year, I’m planning on doing the following:

Read 80 books

As always, it’s a goal to put an X number of books to be read every year. I want to kick off 2021 by reading 80 books from my previous goal last year. I tend to be reading a lot of long books lately, so 80 seems like a reasonable goal this year again.

Do the 2021 Beat the Backlist Reading Challenge

Like any other reader, I have a massive backlog of unread books in my shelves and Kindle that I’ve been meaning to get to, but failed to do so. I randomly encountered this challenge from Novel Knight, and I really wanted to do it because some of the prompts featured can be applied to the tons of books I hauled over the years. I already listed it down on my bullet journal, and my fingers crossed that I may finish this challenge and put a dent into my backlog.

January TBR

I will start 2021 by mood-reading my way (yet again) in January. But there are a few titles that I want to start this month, and hopefully I will enjoy. The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin is one I’m buddy-reading with a couple of friends, while the others are books highly recommended by my trusted reviewer friends.

What are your 2021 reading plans?

One thought on “My 2020 Wrap-Up & 2021 Reading Plans

  1. I wanted to lean into the usual 50 books per year but it felt like such an exhausting requirement knowing that there is that certain number I need to crunch into my year. With that in mind, I decided that putting in 1 book gives me that push to read but still create room for more.

    Like

Leave a comment