June Wrap-Up & The Mid Year Book Freakout Tag

June has been a whirlwind month for me. I haven't gotten to read as many books I wanted to because I've been busy preparing for my upcoming return to medical school for my final year. My slightly busy schedule was also coupled with starting the month off with less than stellar books, which aggravated my … Continue reading June Wrap-Up & The Mid Year Book Freakout Tag

Review: The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

Single mom Jess Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Raised by her grandparents--who now help raise her seven-year-old daughter, Juno--Jess has been left behind too often to feel comfortable letting anyone in. After all, her father's never been … Continue reading Review: The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

Rapid Review: Netgalley Picks – Cure Bound & Birds of Paradise

Cure Bound by M.L. Philpitt "Forever came sooner than either of us thought. But fate has given me a new forever. Content warnings: kidnapping and abduction, sexual assault, Stockholm Syndrome Cure Bound had that promising potential to appeal to my love for dark, sultry romance novels, and even the addition of a forbidden love between … Continue reading Rapid Review: Netgalley Picks – Cure Bound & Birds of Paradise

ARC Review: The Tangleroot Palace by Marjorie Liu

New York Times bestseller and Hugo, British Fantasy, Romantic Times, and Eisner award-winning author of the graphic novel, Monstress, Marjorie Liu leads you deep into the heart of the tangled woods. In her long-awaited debut story collection, dark, lush, and spellbinding short fiction you will find unexpected detours, dangerous magic, and even more dangerous women. … Continue reading ARC Review: The Tangleroot Palace by Marjorie Liu

Weekly Updates #3: What’s Going On With Me + Lockdown Birthday Part 2

It's been a while since I did one of these, so I guess it's time to do a new one! It's also my chance to update everyone what's been going on my life recently. Another Lockdown Birthday If there was one thing that I was already sure would happen, it's that I would be celebrating … Continue reading Weekly Updates #3: What’s Going On With Me + Lockdown Birthday Part 2

May Wrap-Up ft. #AsianReadathon & #StanAsianAuthors Reads

Twelve books might not be my batting average number per month, but these 12 books were very rewarding and provided a great reading experience due to their quality content. So here's a run down of the things I've consumed for the past month! #AsianReadathon & #StanAsianAuthors Wrap-Up Prompts: Read any book written by an Asian … Continue reading May Wrap-Up ft. #AsianReadathon & #StanAsianAuthors Reads

Book Spotlight: Summer in the City by Lori Wilde, Priscilla Oliveras, & Sarah Skilton

Hey, everyone! I won't be able to post a review for this book (as I only received the book yesterday lol), but I'm more than honored to present the release of this new summer rom-com anthology: Summer in the City! I got personally invited to join on this tour by one of the authors, Priscilla … Continue reading Book Spotlight: Summer in the City by Lori Wilde, Priscilla Oliveras, & Sarah Skilton

Dual Review: Skyward and Starsight by Brandon Sanderson

My Thoughts “The warrior's way was not to run from failure, but up to it and do better.”Skyward, Brandon Sanderson This is my introduction to Brandon Sanderson's non-Cosmere and young adult books, and I was so glad that this book did not disappoint and that it had all the expectations I had from his other … Continue reading Dual Review: Skyward and Starsight by Brandon Sanderson

Review: Soul Lanterns by Shaw Kuzki

The haunting and poignant story of a how a young Japanese girl's understanding of the historic and tragic bombing of Hiroshima is transformed by a memorial lantern-floating ceremony. Twelve-year-old Nozomi lives in the Japanese city of Hiroshima. She wasn't even born when the bombing of Hiroshima took place. Every year Nozomi joins her family at … Continue reading Review: Soul Lanterns by Shaw Kuzki

Review: Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

What would you change if you could go back in time? In a small back alley in Tokyo, there is a café which has been serving carefully brewed coffee for more than one hundred years. But this coffee shop offers its customers a unique experience: the chance to travel back in time. In Before the Coffee … Continue reading Review: Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

Book Tour Stop & Review: Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Manansala

Hey everyone! Today is a very exciting day because I have chosen as one of the tour hosts for Mia P. Manansala's debut novel - Arsenic and Adobo! I've always had my eye on this book ever since its official announcement, and even though I'm not a big Adobo fan (hello, my fellow Sinigang people!), … Continue reading Book Tour Stop & Review: Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Manansala

April Wrap-Up & May TBR ft. #AsianReadathon and #StanAsianAuthors

April has been a very satisfying reading month, especially in terms of the quality of books that I managed to read. It was also another fantasy-filled month for me, but with some specks of romance and mystery thrown in the mix. And undeniably, the best book I've read this month and something I've added to … Continue reading April Wrap-Up & May TBR ft. #AsianReadathon and #StanAsianAuthors

Book Tour Stop & Review: In the Jaded Grove by Anela Deen

Hey everyone! Today is my book tour stop for Anela Deen's newest fantasy release - In the Jaded Grove! I would like to thank Caffeine Book Tours for selecting me as one of the tour hosts. I'm always looking for more fae-centered books that have darker and more sinister themes, hence I was super excited … Continue reading Book Tour Stop & Review: In the Jaded Grove by Anela Deen

Book Tour: Fae Books Written by POC Authors

Folklore is a widely used inspirational material for books, especially fantasy novels, and one of the most known folk tales featured in fantasy books are the ones based from the massive world of the Faerie. Originally derived from European tales, these beings living in Faerie such as faeries, elves, goblins, mermaids, banshees, pixies, brownies, trolls, … Continue reading Book Tour: Fae Books Written by POC Authors

Review: The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

Logen Ninefingers, infamous barbarian, has finally run out of luck. Caught in one feud too many, he’s on the verge of becoming a dead barbarian – leaving nothing behind him but bad songs, dead friends, and a lot of happy enemies. Nobleman Captain Jezal dan Luthar, dashing officer, and paragon of selfishness, has nothing more … Continue reading Review: The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

Review: CrossTalk by Connie Willis

In the not-too-distant future, a simple outpatient procedure to increase empathy between romantic partners has become all the rage. And Briddey Flannigan is delighted when her boyfriend, Trent, suggests undergoing the operation prior to a marriage proposal - to enjoy better emotional connection and a perfect relationship with complete communication and understanding. But things don't quite work … Continue reading Review: CrossTalk by Connie Willis

ARC Review: Anchored Hearts by Priscilla Oliveras

Key West is the ideal backdrop for the summer read you need! Perfect for fans of Abby Jimenez, Jasmine Guillory, and Jen DeLuca, this gorgeous and stirring new love story from the author of Island Affair will touch your heart… Award-winning photographer Alejandro Miranda hasn't been home to Key West in years--not since he left … Continue reading ARC Review: Anchored Hearts by Priscilla Oliveras

Review: Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she’s intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen’s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo. And then Sirscha, somehow, restores Saengo to life. Unveiled as the first soulguide in living memory, Sirscha is summoned to … Continue reading Review: Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee

Review: A Secret Service by Joy Jenkins

Carter Owens, daughter of a Secret Service agent, is trained to disassemble any weapon, any situation, and anyone.  Her biting sarcasm and razor-sharp mind make her impossible to beat in a word fight and when talking doesn’t work, she uses her fists. She attends Hamilton Prep, Washington D.C.’s most prestigious high school, where everyone is … Continue reading Review: A Secret Service by Joy Jenkins

ARC Review: The Stolen Kingdom by Jillian Boehme

For a hundred years, the once-prosperous kingdom of Perin Faye has suffered under the rule of the greedy and power-hungry Thungrave kings. Maralyth Graylaern, a vintner's daughter, has no idea her hidden magical power is proof of a secret bloodline and claim to the throne. Alac Thungrave, the king’s second son, has always been uncomfortable … Continue reading ARC Review: The Stolen Kingdom by Jillian Boehme

Series Review: Wax & Wayne (Mistborn Era 2) by Brandon Sanderson

Series Summary Three hundred years after the events of the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is now on the verge of modernity, with railroads to supplement the canals, electric lighting in the streets and the homes of the wealthy, and the first steel-framed skyscrapers racing for the clouds. Kelsier, Vin, Elend, Sazed, Spook, and the rest are … Continue reading Series Review: Wax & Wayne (Mistborn Era 2) by Brandon Sanderson

Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Two sisters. One brutal murder. A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself… And an intoxicating romance. Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe—witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon finds the body of her beloved … Continue reading Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco